Exiled Souls and Pioneers

Ok, Benjamin Zephaniah has now embraced the rural life.  But, oh, I love this poem.  I first encountered it in the Museum of London gallery, long before I really felt like a Londoner.  I love the poem’s energy and how it sweeps the good and bad of the city along with it.  I envy my daughter, a born an bred Londoner, her natural social ease with people from all different backgrounds.  And, of course, her natural London cool.  As I move from writing for younger children to young adults, London will often be a main character.  I hope I can make the place as brash, bold, ancient and enticing as Zephaniah does.

Leave a Reply

